Who are These Peole?

I recently renewed my computer security program. Different people use different companies, but in the end, the goal for all of us is the same – protection, keep bad programs out. When the system finished downloading and updating I couldn’t help notice the database of malicious software. It’s a screen I’ve seen before, but for some reason, today it stood out to me. My security program noted the following as it relates to what kind of threats are out there, and how many there are: Malware – 8,053,587; Banners – 29,266; Phishing websites – 729,734; Spam – 134,157; Malicious scripts – 27,931. Wow. Are you kidding me? When you add it all up, you get a figure of over 9,000,000 things out there to damage your computer.

The scary part of all of this is the fact that my security program has an automatic database update. In other words, it runs in such a way as to keep up with the ever growing list of programs being created to do one thing – mess with my computer. WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE?! What kind of person dedicates their time and effort to deliberately create destruction? The end goal of the product is to disrupt, harass, bring frustration, and generally ruin another person’s life by wrecking their computer.

It’s funny how many times I’ve read things in the Bible, but it takes a daily application to make something really stick. Psalm 37 is a great passage of scripture. Verse four is a verse I’m sure most of us have heard and quoted countless times; Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” I’m finding it difficult to talk about this Psalm without wanting to put nearly the whole thing in this post – this Psalm is that good. But I don’t have room for forty verses, so take some time to read and reflect on it, you won’t be disappointed.

However, I do want to point a few things out. First, there is the encouragement to not be envious of wicked people. They plot and plan and deliberately seek to bring harm, but God knows and can handle them. Verse 12 says, “The wicked plots against the righteous and gnashes at him with his teeth. The Lord laughs at him, For He sees His day coming.” Evil people aren’t getting away with anything. One day payment will come due, and God will collect.

Second, there is the call to live right. There are some powerful promises in this Psalm for those who are willing to leave the world behind and live for the Lord, to stop the plotting and bad behavior and live a life of honor and righteousness.  Verses 27&28 say, “Depart from evil and do good, so you will abide forever. For the Lord loves justice and does not forsake His godly ones.” One great promise among many in this Psalm.

Finally, God’s got our back. He’s like the security program constantly running in the background doing its job even though we are unaware. The final two verses, 39&40, say, “But the salvation of the righteous is from the Lord; He is their strength in the time of trouble. The Lord helps them and delivers them; He delivers them from the hand of the wicked and saves them. Because they take refuge in Him.” I don’t know who “those people” are, but I do know the Lord. I reaffirm my trust in Him. I reaffirm my belief that He is watching out for me and will protect me from the myriad of threats I am completely unaware of. I reaffirm this because I know He loves me, because He leads me. As verse 23 says, “The steps of a man are established by the Lord, and He delights in his way.”

Copyright © 2012 John P. King

Verses from the NASB

Leave a Reply

