Go to bed!

When I got home from work last night, I sat down at my computer to finish today’s blog. For those that don’t know, I work 3PM-12AM . Yes, that’s right, midnight. Then I had a flashback. When I was working on my Master’s degree, there were a few occasions when I worked into the early morning hours on a paper. While typing away during ungodly hours when no one should be awake, I can remember thinking to myself, “Man, this is great! This paper is going to be fantastic. An “A” for sure!” It seemed like my fingers couldn’t type fast enough. Words poured forth with lightning speed.

Of course, after having gone to bed for a few hours of good sleep, things looked a whole lot different. Reading through what I had written, there was only one conclusion: this stuff was TERRIBLE. I remember thinking, “Ugh, this bad. This is so bad. What was I thinking? This paper is a total fail!” I had to undo all the work I had done the night before. The delete and backspace buttons got a thorough workout and some sections had to be removed in their entirety. All that time and work, gone. It would have been better for me if I had just gone to bed.

So with that in mind, I went to bed. I did not want to repeat that kind of fiasco any more. Sometimes, whatever it is that we are doing can wait. There is no substitute for having a clear mind and thinking straight. We can all take a lesson from our technology – use the pause button. Our iPods have them, the DVR has one, and for all the old-schoolers out there, even the tape player had one. I promise, that “thing” that is so important will be there when we get back. We need to learn how to take the time to reset our minds so the work we do will be something of real value that won’t have to be redone later.

Rest, and its subsequent result, personal renewal, is a key component to living a healthy and productive life. When we run around from project to project and don’t allow our bodies and minds the chance to recover, we diminish no only ourselves, but that “all important” thing we just had to get done. Let’s face it, having a day off was God’s idea. Not that He “needed” it, but when God made the world in six days, He made another day just so He could rest. In fact, Genesis 2:3 says, “Then God blessed the seventh day and sanctified it, because in it He rested from all His work which God had created and made.” How do you like that? He “blessed and sanctified” the day of rest. Is God cool or what? So, a word to the wise – go to bed and get some rest!

By the way, this post is NOT what I was working on last night – that other one was a total fail.

2 thoughts on “Go to bed!

Leave a Reply

